Haleiwa is the solo project of Stockholm-based musician Mikko Singh. Mikko makes indie pop with influences of kraut, tropical and new wave.

Haleiwa has released three albums since 2005. After four years of silence following the tropical sounding 'Pura Vida dude' (2010) on the Japanese label Friend Of Mine Records, Haleiwa released the 7” single 'Wall Of Blue Sky' in 2014 on the British label Sunstone Records. The atmospheric and krauty 7” was quickly sold out. 

Haleiwa is now back with a new full-length album released on LP/DL by the Stockholm based label This Is Forte. 

Palm Trees Of The Subarctic [LP/DL] This Is Forte
TIF002 September 24 2015

Palm Trees Of The Subarctic

Four years in the making, ’Palm Trees Of The Subarctic’ started in Havanna, Cuba back in 2011 where Mikko travelled with intention to record the album with local musicians. A fun experience and experiment, but later back in Stockholm those sessions were archived in favor of his own home recordings, his true musical element. 40 songs later and 30 in the ditch the album is finally here.

'Palm Trees Of The Subarctic' [TIF002] offers a new dimension to the sound of Haleiwa. The dreamy vocals and mellow lyrics over synthesizer ambience and overdubbed acoustic guitars. Sigur Rós, Tortoise and Joy Division comes to mind when listening. Its beautiful melodies led by rythmic drums and percussion forming a warm bliss of organic soundscape.

All songs written, performed and produced by Mikko Singh. Mainly recorded in his home studio with overdubs done at Telefonstudion in Hägersten, Stockholm. Petter Barnevik (Axe) and Johan Nordlund (This Gift Is A Curse) helped out playing drums on a couple of tracks. Elin Pöllänen played violin. Mastered by Alexander Eldefors. Cover art by Bemo Lundgren.



Haleiwa Wall Of Blue Sky (Official music video)

Previous releases

Wall Of Blue Sky [7"] Sunstone Records 2014
Pura Vida Dude [CD/DL] Friend Of Mine Records 2010
Uskotko Että Siellä On Kukkia? [CD-r/DL] Self Released 2008
Näin Elämän Suuruuden [CD-r/DL] Self Released 2006